Sunday, October 1, 2023

VAR: Why was Ecuador’s goal vs Qatar ruled out?

Related stories


Ecuador were left disappointed when they were denied an early goal in the opening game of the World Cup against Qatar because of VAR.

WHAT HAPPENED? A big mistake from Qatar goalkeeper Saad Al Sheeb, who came out to punch the ball clear but missed, gave Ecuador a golden opportunity that ended with Enner Valencia heading into the open goal from a short distance. Ecuador’s celebrations were cut short, though, as VAR interfered and it was subsequently ruled out.

WHY WASN’T IT GIVEN? The goal was ruled out because of an offside before the assist to Valencia was made by Felix Torres. Replays appeared to show that Ecuador’s Michael Estrada was narrowly offside when the ball was initially lofted into the penalty area, with his foot pictured just beyond the last man.

Ecuador’s Enner Valencia has scored the first goal of the 2022 World Cup against Qatar from the penalty spot after seeing an earlier effort ruled out.

The first goal of the World Cup arrived on 16 minutes when Valencia rolled home a penalty for Ecuador against hosts Qatar. Valencia had earlier seen a goal ruled out for offside but bounced back strongly. The Ecuador captain won a penalty after being caught by goalkeeper Saad Al Sheeb and coolly converted the ensuing spot-kick.

The second goal came in 32 minute. Enner Valencia scored with a header. It was a great goal. Ecuador is having great game. Qatar is doing so bad in their first ever game in World Cup. They had just one chance in the end of the first half.

Valencia’s goal means he is now Ecuador’s highest-scoring player in World Cup history with four goals, overtaking Agustin Delgado on three.

It’s a historic moment for Qatar as they make their debut in the World Cup, while the South American team return after missing the 2018 event.

Latest stories